Smorgasbord Health 2017 – Cook From Scratch with Sally and Carol – Asparagus

You all know that I absolutely love learning about the foods we eat. I want to know about their history and where they fit into our system of botanical classification. I want to understand the nutritional roles they play in our diet, and to discover how people prepared these foods in the past. And of course, I love to eat and to try great recipes for healthy foods that my family will want to eat.

Well, my family LOVES asparagus!

Now, it’s out of season here in southern BC at the moment. (Sadly! I wish we could enjoy it year round…) But this fabulous post by my friend Carol Taylor and her collaborator Sally Cronin just blew me away with its wealth of nutritional information and history on asparagus. And the recipes! There are several really great ways to cook asparagus that you’ll want to check out.

So please click through to Sally and Carol’s post. And please, if you have comments, leave them on the original post. Comments will be turned off at 24 Carrot Diet to help maintain the flow of conversation on the original post.

Note: The reblog link somehow ended up going to a truncated version of the post. To see the whole post, please click on the graphic below or follow the “see the post now” link. Thanks!

Smorgasbord Health 2017 – Cook From Scratch with Sally and Carol – Asparagus
SEE THE POST NOW | PIN FOR LATER

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Welcome to this week’s post where Carol Taylor and I combine forces and share not just the health benefits of foods but some recipes to showcase them in all their glory.

I appreciate that these posts are longer than the average but we hope that you feel that you are getting value for your time…My thanks to Carol for her hard work in the kitchen preparing these wonderful recipes.

HISTORY OF ASPARAGUS

Asparagus is a member of the lily family and the spears that we eat are shoots grown underground. The ancient Greeks used the word asparagus to describe any young tender shoots that were picked and eaten. It was cultivated over 2,000 years ago in that part of the Mediterranean and the Romans then picked up a liking for the delicacy eating fresh and dried out of season.

Source: Smorgasbord Health 2017 – Cook From Scratch with Sally and…

View original post 3 more words

