What am I going to do with 20 lbs of yellow turnips?

What Do You Make with 20 Pounds of Turnips?

Root vegetables are just one of the reasons that fall is my absolute favourite season. I love most vegetables but root vegetables like carrots, beets, potatoes, turnips, etc. are I guess sort of comfort foods for me. I grew up eating a whole lotta potatoes, as they are my mother’s favourite. And she made some mean glazed carrots, which she served at least twice a week when I was growing up. But there’s just more to this root vegetable appreciation.

Maybe it’s the fact that I didn’t care for beets until I was in my late 20s, and then I became almost addicted to them. Maybe it’s the pungent taste of turnips and rutabagas, or the fact that I associate many root vegetables with the soups and stews that I have always loved to cook. Whatever it is, I get a little thrill when local farmers start to harvest these tasty roots and tubers. And when large amounts of these foods start to show up even in the grocery store sale flyers, my mind just starts reeling with all the possibilities!

Bulk Sale on Root Vegetables

Root vegetables do tend to be rather inexpensive, but even so the price has been creeping up over the past few years. Our local grocery store is currently running a special on 10-pound bags of carrots, white potatoes, cooking onions, rutabagas and beets. We normally can’t get any of these items in such quantity, so already that’s exciting. But the price is currently 2 bags for $6. So 20 lb of any of these root vegetables will only cost me $6. Now that’s a real steal here these days!

So, I guess I’ll be freezing and pickling some beets in the near future. And probably freezing and drying carrots, putting up caramelized onions and making French onion soup, and maybe even trying my hand at making lacto-fermented turnip kraut! Today I have to start cleaning out my deep freeze and my little kitchen freezer to make room for all of this wonderful bounty, so first thing I have to do is get the stock pot on the stove and make up some broth with all of my saved veggie peels and end bits. And since we have two turkeys in the deep freeze, I guess I’ll defrost one for tomorrow’s supper to clear up more space.

I have some bags of chopped green tomatoes that I’d put aside for baking, so that will have to be done as well. I want to get some muffins made for the kids’ school snacks, brownies for the open house at cadets this week, and of course my green tomato pies need baking up!

Good thing hubby is off tomorrow and can help with the running around! I’m going to need more sugar and flour, and probably oil and eggs too! It’s going to be a very busy weekend, and an even busier week, here in our house!

What would you do with such a large quantity of these root vegetables? Do you have any favourite recipe ideas to share?

 

Image credit: Turnips by thebittenword.com/Flickr (CC BY 2.0)

12 thoughts on “What Do You Make with 20 Pounds of Turnips?”

    1. Thanks for the link, Treathyl. I must admit, I’m pretty much “over” juicing. I’m happy just to eat my food whole 🙂

      Like

  1. I love hearing about what you can do and how you prepare your food. I am wanting to do more than I have in preparation for food. I recently picked up a small deep freezer from a garage sale for $50. Works great, nothing wrong with it.

    Like

    1. That’s a great buy! Having a deep freeze unit really makes a big difference. I just wish I had room for a second one 🙂

      Like

  2. I’ll admit that I’m not especially fond of rutabagas, but I do like turnips, especially raw or in salads. I have a good recipe for turnip soup, too. I definitely like turnip greens, too. As for beets, I prefer the greens (chard), but my wife is happy to eat the part that grows underground. 🙂

    I also love potatoes, onions and garlic, in regard to root crops.

    Like

  3. Hi Kyla,
    I wrote you a detailed comment about the Pinterest board, but I don’t see it here. It doesn’t say being held for moderation either. Perhaps since I had a link in my response.
    To repeat: I respect you so much and consider you a friend. I also greatly appreciate all your help. However, I am trying to grow my following at my new site and wanted the Pinterest board to be a perk for my followers. I thought you signed up long ago, but I didn’t see you on any of my lists. If it isn’t too much trouble, please sign up again, so I can add you to the board. It would be fun to pin to a board together. Thanks,
    Janice

    Like

  4. Hi Kyla,
    Thanks for coming to my Meet and Greet this weekend. I would love to pin to a group board with you. It would be fun and the next logical step since we already swap pins at the Pinterest Collaborative Group on FB. I so appreciate all you help, but I was hoping to keep the group board as a perk for my blog followers since I’m trying to grow my following. I checked three lists but didn’t see you on them, so I got you the sign up link
    http://wp.me/P6x6vQ-hM
    There are 2 other incentives as well. I so respect you and consider you a friend. I hope you understand.
    Janice

    Like

  5. One of my favorite is pickled beets. I have always loved them but pickled, mmm. I used to enjoy turnips but I reckon I am burned out on those. I love to can and freeze my own food and I have since I was child.

    Like

    1. Not nearly enough, I’m afraid! Beets are a big favourite in our house, but we don’t cook with them often except when they’re in season in fall. We used to buy 50-lb bags of them, but it’s not so easy to find them fresh where we live now.

      Like

Please add your comments below

