Green tomatoes can be substituted for apples in a pie

How to Hide Healthy Veggies in Yummy Green Tomato Pie

 

A few green tomatoes are to be expected at the end of the gardening season. If you just have a few, it’s no big deal. You put them on the windowsill to ripen, and when they do you use them as you would tomatoes that ripened on the vine.

But what about if you have bushels of unripened green tomatoes?

Of course, there are green tomato pickles and relishes. You can use green tomatoes in soups, spaghetti sauces, or even chili. You can substitute green tomatoes for zucchini, carrots or even bananas in your favourite spice cake or muffin recipe. And of course, there’s the classic fried green tomato!

But have you ever thought of making a green tomato pie?

Green Tomato Pie

Apparently, green tomatoes can be substituted for apples and made into a very tasty pie. The green tomato pie recipe I read says you can’t tell the difference I plan to spend some time later this evening chopping up ingredients for this pastry but once baked I won’t be telling hubby and the kids what it is until after I’ve heard their reactions! If you want to try it too, use the linked recipe or just substitute green tomatoes for the apples in your favourite recipe. Let me know how it turns out!

 

Green Tomato Nutrition

Green tomatoes have a lot of the same nutrients as ripe red tomatoes, though in slightly lower proportions. But I imagine they’d pass for apples a lot more easily than red tomatoes would!

What’s interesting is that cup for cup, tomatoes have fewer than half the calories – 22 calories for one cup of sliced green tomatoes, compared with 57 calories for the same amount of apple slices. Green tomatoes are rich in vitamin C. They also provide potassium, vitamins A and K, as well as several of the B vitamins. By comparison, apples have less protein, fewer vitamins, and more carbs.

 

My Adventures with Green Tomato Recipes

Our little valley is bear country, so this time of year it’s really important for people to pick their fruit and glean their gardens. That can often mean that by the end of summer a gardener will have so much produce they really have no idea where to put it all!

A few days ago, a neighbour sent my husband home with three big boxes of tomatoes, most of which were green. So far we’ve made stuffed tomatoes, sandwiches, and school snacks from the ripe ones. And we’ve made a beautiful green and red tomato soup that I will most definitely make again. I have more tomatoes cut up for a different tomato soup recipe.

This weekend, I am going to attempt to make a zucchini brownie recipe with green tomato instead. I also found a lovely green tomato cake recipe I want to try. I want to make some for our house, some for my girlfriend’s family, and some for the lovely neighbour who sent the tomatoes home. I saw an interesting savoury green tomato cobbler recipe that uses cheddar biscuits – well, you can see I have a lot of stuff I want to make! And luckily we have more than enough tomatoes for our household and several others!

 

Green tomato pie is a healthy alternative to apple pie – and they’ll never taste the difference! | #healthy #desserts #applepie
Please use this image to pin this article. Thanks!

Did you find this post informative? If so, I hope you’ll share it with others who will be interested in learning more about cooking with green tomatoes! Share this post by using the social media sharing buttons at left, or feel free to use the image above to pin it on Pinterest. 

 

Image credit: Green tomatoes by Jon Sullivan/Public Domain Images

8 thoughts on “How to Hide Healthy Veggies in Yummy Green Tomato Pie”

  1. I love green tomatoes but never switched them for apples. I make a yummy friend green tomato casserole. I created years ago made with salsa, cheese and baked. It is how I used up left overs of fried green tomatoes. It was a big hit with the family.

    Like

    1. I don’t make or eat a lot of pickles. But when I get a craving for them, I do love my pickles! I’m planning to put up some pickled green tomatoes and watermelon rind this weekend. If I have time, I think I might also do some carrots, onions, and cauliflower while I’m at it.

      Like

  2. Actually we both are working. My wife hardly has enough time to make something extra ordinary. But she cooks simple veggies. As we both like only veggies. But we eat beans once in a week. When my wife has few holidays, then she tries new dishes .

    Like

    1. I don’t know how common it is to use a deep freeze there, @saminac, but many of us here rely on them to preserve foods that are made ahead. One thing that I like to do is to package meals that can be cooked in a crockpot. We make two or more of each meal when we first prepare it, and then when we need a quick meal we can defrost one package at a time.

      We put the meal into a crockpot where it can cook all day when we are attending to other things. Or we make casseroles like lasagna, shepherd’s pie, and meatloaf that can be thawed for a day in the fridge and then reheated in an hour.

      I do similar things with ingredients for casseroles, soups and stews. And even desserts! You already know that I freeze cookie dough. I also bake extra muffins and freeze them. We love egg dishes here, so I prepare enough chopped vegetables and meat, and shredded cheese, for quick omelettes or breakfast burritos when we want an easy breakfast.

      There are a great many time saving tricks! Once my first two blogs are well established, I think perhaps I will start another for freezer meals and other kitchen hacks.

      Like

    2. When I am as busy as you two are I have bean day when I have a day off, I simply cook several kinds of beans and freeze them into meal size portions. So easy to come home and have dinner ready! I like vegetables better than meat.

      Like

      1. I discovered that I cook precook beans and freeze them, only just this year @andriaperry.

        Most folks I know just buy them canned, but I’ve always preferred to buy dried beans for a number of reasons. Now that I know I can cook them up in advance and freeze them, I try to make big batches for making my soups and my chili. I haven’t really done it much over the summer, but now with the cold weather upon us I will start doing it again soon.

        Like

Please add your comments below

